Hello WordPress!

Well, what can I say. It’s been a long time. In fact, it’s been over a year since I last showed any signs of life on here. Lot’s has changed since I graduated although in a way, not much has changed at all. I’m not working at that awful job with those rude/disrespectful/drug-addicted/evil doctors. I was lucky to get a summer internship at a small development agency that I guess I am about halfway done with now. Which means I’m most definitely on the job hunt(if you know anyone looking for a jr. web developer).

I’ve started volunteering with Girl Develop It, which is how I got the internship to begin with. I started about 6 months ago after I went to their January mentoring night. I wanted to take a few classes and make some connections, and I figured volunteering would be a good way to help with that. Now, I’m the Social Media Coordinator for the LA chapter (which is a fancy way of saying I tweet occasionally) and I might be helping to bring a new chapter to the OC area soon. It’s been a really great experience so far and I’ve been able to meet some really great people. I can’t believe how much I’ve learned. It really has become a bright spot in my life.

In other news, I’m sad to report that my reading list is still rather extensive. I haven’t been very good about keeping up on my reading as I have been a bit career focused. But I am reading Harry Potter from the beginning. Now, I know you’re thinking, “Why the hell is she reading Harry Potter? Hasn’t she already read it and has new stuff to read instead?” Yes, I do have newer books to read, however, I never read Harry Potter when it was new and popular (not that it isn’t popular now). I know that sounds like a crime but when the books started coming out I was a young dumb kid that didn’t particularly care about reading for any reason. By the time I got into reading I was in high school and Anne Rice was much more enticing than an orphan wizard.

I’m hoping to rectify this major transgression now. I hope it won’t be weird reading the books seeing as everything I know and love about Harry Potter I learned from the movies. I love the movies but this will be one of the few times that I actually watched the movie before I read the book. I usually have a rule to not see a movie before reading the book because the movie never lives up to the book. It kind of makes reading the series now a little more interesting.

I’m excited to be back on the blogging wagon. I’ll share my updated reading tomorrow. It’s probably time to update my about page too. Have a good week blogging people!

Leave a Reply

